Tessa Hellbusch

Language

Deutsch
Editorial work, translations, copywriting, voice-overs

Services

Translations

Due to my bilingual upbringing, I'm fluent in English and German. With over ten years experience working in British and German editorial offices and press departments, I can offer you speedy and accurate translations from German into English and vice versa. Whether you need your website, PowerPoint presentation, speech, or screen-play translated, I'd be happy to help you out.

Editorial work

If you prefer writing your documents yourself, but need an editor to cast an eye over spelling, grammar, and style, you've come to the right place. "I spy with my little eye ..." - that's my job!

Copywriting

Getting the message across is perhaps the most important part of the work when selling a product. A pun that attracts attention in Germany though, might not work the same way linguistically or culturally in English. I can find the right wording for your English advertising in order to capture and captivate an international audience.

Voice-overs

Whether for your English-language phone messaging, for training material or roles in video games, films and documentaries – I offer you a strong voice, trained by years of acting practice and singing.

About me

Tessa Hellbusch (Copyright)

I was born in Barcelona, spent my early childhood in the States and then moved to Germany at the age of seven. I spent several years at an international school before attending a German state school at age 11. The only two German words I knew at that point were "Schwein" and "Nein". I realised that saying "no" to a "pig" wouldn't get me far and that I'd have to pick up the German language quickly, just in case conversation might turn to a different topic.

But easier said than done; the trials and tribulations that my tutor and I went through in order for me to understand the difference between Sie (you) and Du (you), or the articles dem (the), den (the), and der (the) were fierce. But eventually the grammar and long words began to sink in and make sense.

On the laptop (Creative Commons CC0)

I studied Drama and English/Politics and International Relations at the University of Kent at Canterbury. Then I went on to complete an MA in War Studies at King's College, London, before working as commissioning editor at a publishing company specialising in history books for three years.

Later, I worked as deputy press and public relations officer at the British Consulate in Hamburg for five years, where a large part of my work was to write and edit speeches, press releases and reports in both German and English.

After the closure of the Consulate in 2006, I worked as an editor for the online magazine HAMBURG MAGAZIN before launching my own business as a translator, editor and copywriter in January 2008.

Prices

As the level of difficulty in texts will vary, I can only give you an accurate price once you provide me with an idea of the length and subject matter of your desired text.

Translations

With translations, I calculate by standard line (55 characters, incl. blanks) in the target language, my line rate lying between €1.20 and €2.00 (plus VAT) depending on contents and type of assignment.

Editorial work, text and voice-over work

I bill editorial, copywriting and voice-over work on an hourly rate which is previously agreed upon in writing.

Enquiries

Please either give me a call or send me an e-mail so I can learn more about your project and give you an estimate. You will find my contact details here.

Contact

Tessa Hellbusch
In den Tannen 4
D-29476 Gusborn/Wendland

Telefon +49 (0)5865 28 50 059
Mobil +49 (0)170 32 89 969

E-mail
Web https://translating-text.de

You can also use the contact form to write me an email directly. All fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory.

Contact Form

Secure Data Transfer (SSL–encryption)

Tessa Hellbusch

Sprache wählen

English
Lektorat, Übersetzungen, Texte, Voiceovers

Leistungen

Übersetzungen

Bilingual in deutsch und englisch durch meine Herkunft und mit über zehn Jahren Berufserfahrung bei sowohl deutschen als auch englischen Redaktions- und Pressebüros, biete ich Ihnen schnelle und genaue Übersetzungen vom Deutschen ins Englische. Ob Webseite, PowerPoint Präsentation, Rede oder Drehbuch, ich stehe Ihnen bei Übersetzungen gerne zur Verfügung.

Lektorat

Wenn Sie es vorziehen, selbst Ihre englischsprachigen Dokumente zu verfassen, aber nicht auf einen Korrekturleser verzichten möchten, der einen frischen Blick auf Rechtschreibung, Stil und Feinheiten wirft, kontaktieren Sie mich gerne.

Werbetexte

Die Botschaft übermitteln – das ist vielleicht die wichtigste Arbeit beim Verkauf eines Produkts. Das Wortspiel, das im Deutschen funktioniert, kann aber sprachlich oder kulturell ganz anders im Englischen ausfallen. Ich helfe Ihnen, die richtige Wortwahl für Ihre englischsprachige Werbung zu finden, damit sie für ein internationales Publikum ansprechend wirkt.

Voiceovers

Ob für Ihre englischsprachigen Telefonansagen, Ihr Trainingsmaterial oder für Rollen in Videospielen, Filmen und Dokumentarfilmen – ich biete Ihnen eine starke und durch Theaterspielen und Singen trainierte Stimme hierfür.

Über mich

Tessa Hellbusch (Foto: Copyright Tessa Hellbusch)

Geboren wurde ich in Barcelona, später sind wir in die USA gezogen und dann nach Deutschland als ich sieben war. Zunächst ging ich auf eine internationale Schule, bevor ich mit elf die deutsche Staatsschule besuchte. Die einzigen deutschen Wörter, die ich zu diesem Zeitpunkt kannte, waren „Schwein“ und „Nein!“. Mir war klar, dass mein Nein zu einem Schwein mich nicht besonders weit bringen würde und dass ich Deutsch möglichst schnell lernen müsste für den Fall, dass es auch mal um andere Dinge ging.

Aber einfacher gesagt, als getan; ich erinnere mich an das qualvolle Leiden meiner Nachhilfelehrerin und mir als ich den Unterschied zwischen „Du“ und „Sie“ nicht verstand oder „dem“, „den“ und „der“ zusammen ein einziges Enigma ergaben. Aber allmählich verstand ich die schwierigen Formen und neuen langen Wörter.

Am Laptop (Foto: Creative Commons CC0)

Ich studierte Theater und Englisch / Politik und Internationale Beziehungen an der University of Kent at Canterbury und absolvierte dann ein MA in War Studies am King’s College London, bevor ich bei einem auf lokale Geschichtsbücher spezialisierten Verlag drei Jahre als Lektorin arbeitete.

Später war ich fünf Jahre in der Abteilung für Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit des Britischen Generalkonsulates in Hamburg tätig, wo ein Großteil meiner Arbeit im Schreiben und Redigieren von Reden, Pressemitteilungen und Berichten bestand.

Nach der Schließung des Konsulats im Jahre 2006, arbeitete ich als Redakteurin für das Online-Portal HAMBURG MAGAZIN, bevor ich mich Anfang 2008 als Übersetzerin, Lektorin und Werbetexterin selbstständig machte.

Preise

Da der Schwierigkeitsgrad von Texten unterschiedlich ist, kann ich Ihnen nur einen Kostenvoranschlag liefern, wenn Sie mir Einblick in die Länge und Thematik des gewünschten Textes geben.

Übersetzungen

Bei Übersetzungen berechne ich in der Regel nach Normzeile (55 Zeichen, inkl. Leerzeichen) in der Zielsprache. Mein Zeilenpreis liegt dabei zwischen 1,20 und 2,00 Euro (plus MwSt.) je nach Inhalt und Auftragsart.

Lektorat / Texte / Voiceovers

Bei Lektoraten, Textaufträgen und Voiceover rechne ich generell auf vorher schriftlich festgehaltener Stundenbasis ab.

Anfrage

Bitte rufen Sie mich an oder senden Sie mir eine E-mail, damit ich über das Projekt mehr erfahre und Ihnen einen Kostenvoranschlag geben kann. Sie finden meine Kontaktdaten hier

Kontakt

Tessa Hellbusch
In den Tannen 4
D-29476 Gusborn/Wendland

Telefon +49 (0)5865 28 50 059
Mobil +49 (0)170 32 89 969

E-mail
Web https://translating-text.de

Sie können mir auch über das Formular direkt eine Email schreiben. Mit einem Sternchen (*) gekennzeichnete Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Kontaktformular

Sichere Datenübertragung (SSL–Verschlüsselung)